top of page
  • Writer's pictureSvenja Dollar

How to possibly Handle Cognitive Impairments

In the previous post we unpacked a summary of many (50+) studies on the topic of mental impairment during Major Depressive Disorder (MDD). Though it is informative, it is not particularly helpful when it comes to dealing with cognitive impairment. These coping strategies are helpful with slowed cognitive functions that are caused by MDD as well as many other mental illnesses. I suffer from attention deficits when I am struggling with my auditory hallucinations and these strategies help me while I’m having those psychotic symptoms as well. Heck, it can help you when you are just tired and struggling to focus!

The American Psychiatric Association has an easy to read list of coping strategies. The list includes tips for each aspect of life, from big things (marriage, job changes) to small everyday things (sleep, remembering a to-do list).

I have an addition that I have found works very well for me. When I get upset over my lack of ability to focus on the computer screen, or write complete sentences for that matter, I take 10 minutes or more to do a short activity that requires much less attention. For me those things are usually bird watching, looking at interesting things or playing dress-up games online. Yes, I’m 23 and I am not ashamed of indulging in little “childish” things to help me regain my focus (and I mean, who doesn’t like putting together outfits and making a new character?). These small tasks (writing out a short verse, watching wildlife, getting a small snack prepared on a plate for yourself etc.) help you regain focus in small increments and help prep your mind up for the bigger task. Not only that, but these small tasks give your head a break from whatever you were struggling with before. Some key things to remember though:

-Set a reasonable amount of time for your task, this way, you don’t get carried away and try to cook a whole chicken instead of a few crackers for a snack (I’m guilty). It helps you keep your time managed when managing anything is a daunting task.

-Remember that if any of these suggestions do not help you, it is OK. If you are struggling with mental illness, you may not be able to work at the capacity that you have before. It is not something pleasant but it is also not your fault. It’s the same concept as someone trying to sing a Mariah Carey song with a head cold, it’s just not going to work that well. Give yourself some time and some slack. And, if needed, ask for some help, or let people know you may need longer to do whatever you are unable to do at the moment.

-You know yourself better than the APA post’s author or I do. You can try lots of different things, just be prepared for some stuff to work and others not. Like you will hear me say a million times: Each person’s struggle is unique to them, there is no singular cure for all of these symptoms.

If you have found something that works for you, please comment below! Who knows, maybe it will work for someone else too!

Recent Posts

See All

Untitled

The recovery journey is at times just as grueling as the illness itself. Many people who are struggling from chronic illnesses (mental or physical) may want to give up and let the illness take over be

bottom of page